Homemade Pork Siomai

Header

I have been craving siomai for the past 2-3 weeks. And it’s not just any siomai, it has to be homemade, by me, from scratch! I shared this to my workmates and someone tagged me in a Facebook video from yummy.ph of how to make siomai, so I saved the video and I got to finally do it today. 🙂

Here’s the screenshot of the ingredients for reference:

IMG_0254

Singkamas (jicama) was not available in the supermarket so I just doubled the amount of carrots. Here’s how much I bought the ingredients for:

  • 1 kilo ground pork Php 172.68
  • White onion Php 28.66 (3 pcs)
  • Carrots Php 25.35 (2 pcs)
  • Oyster sauce Php 94.50
  • Sesame Oil Php 102.50
  • Molo wrapper Php 26.50
  • Eggs Php 81 (1 dozen, couldn’t buy it per piece)
  • Spring Onions (Php 11.76)

URRS0515

Mr. A helped with chopping the onions and carrots. He tried to use a chopping apparatus thingy but it just got stuck in the blades haha so I ended up doing it manually. Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl.

BYRZ8516

Here it is now with the sesame oil, egg, oyster sauce, salt, pepper, and sugar.

KPZF1105

POWB7960

Next, you get your molo/dimsum wrapper and get a tablespoon of the mixture and place it in the middle. Dab your finger in water and put around the edges of the wrapper.

Mr. A helped me with this and he made better looking siomai, haha! Mine looked deformed and crappy. I made small ones, big ones, closed, open, you name it. 😀 I guess it will all boil down to taste.

APEB8744

BOIR9907

Place the siomai in the steamer and cook for 15-20 minutes. Maybe because we made bigger ones, the others cooked for more about 25 minutes.

PQOB5116

Success! Hello there my beauties. 🙂 Of course, have your calamansi + soy sauce dipping sauce ready.

IMG_0279

It was a fairly easy recipe to follow and I like that there’s a video so I can refer to it from time to time to make I was still doing it right. The only tedious part would be the actual making of the siomai/putting the mixture in the siomai wrapper.

I got 2 thumbs up from Mr. A, yay! He said that the meat mixture was flavorful. I only bought 1 pack of the siomai wrapper and I ended up with a bit of mixture left. I guess because the size was not consistent while I was making the siomai, haha. I’ll just make meatballs out of the leftover mixture for dinner. 🙂


Thank you to canva.com for my header photo.

Leave a Reply

