Trufa Pasta Bar, Makati

One lunch break a couple of weeks ago, a good friend decided to visit my ‘side’ of Makati and have a quick lunch. Since we only had an hour, we decided to go somewhere close. Luckily, Trufa Pasta Bar is just walking distance from my office. We had early lunch to avoid the rush hour so we were there by 11. They just opened so we were the only ones there.

The ambiance was sort of modern but relaxed, has a lot of wood fixtures and exposed pipes on the ceiling.

IMG_9242IMG_9244IMG_9243

We were handed out the menu and was left to peruse it. They had a good number of choices and it wasn’t too much that it will take you 15-20 minutes to go over. The idea is you build/make your own pasta (think Project Pie-ish). You choose your sauce/salsa which is where the base price of your dish will be set. They have a number of choices so there are options for everyone – olive oil, red sauce, white sauce, etc. Next you choose your type of pasta – spaghetti, fusili, farfalle, etc. these are free except for the ravioli since it has a filling. Next are the add ons – chicken, salmon, mushrooms, etc. these are not free and have corresponding fee for each item that you add. They also have a lunch menu for Php 450 that comes with a pasta, salad/cookie and juice/coffee; it’s available from 12-6PM only. It’s a good deal but the pasta have limited choices and I wasn’t in the mood for any of the choices so I didn’t order this.

After a few minutes, the server came back and asked us if it was our first time. We answered yes and she offered for us to try their best seller – the Trufa sauce which is their signature dish and best seller. We decided to order this but needed a few more minutes to decide on the add ons that we’d like in our pasta. For the meantime, we first ordered an appetizer. They have a few choices but we landed on the Croquetas de Chorizo (Php 195), it is croquettes with bechamel and ilonggo chorizo filling. It was really good and didn’t need a lot of the sauce (aioli). There was enough pieces of chorizo inside for you to actually taste it. Most croquettes I have tried would have a specific kind but will just have the ‘essence’ of the flavor. Too bad I wasn’t able to take a picture of what it looks like inside.

IMG_9282

So what’s funny is my friend and I ended up ordering the exact same thing, except for the pasta. 😛 We had the Trufa pasta sauce (Php 350) with spaghetti (for me and tagliatelle for my friend, no additional charge for both pasta type) with panceta (lightly fried pork belly, Php 60) and setas (mushroom selection according to the menu, Php 70).

IMG_9245

The trufa sauce is rich and creamy and delicious – I loved it! 🙂 The truffle was very evident but not too overpowering. It might not look it but the dish had enough bacon & mushrooms in it, I ended up with a piece or 2 in every bite. I’m not sure if it’s just me and my appetite but I would have loved a few more mouthfuls even after I’ve finished the dish. It might have been more filling if I chose the tagliatelle but nonetheless, I was satisfied with my dish.

To end our lovely lunch, we decided to have dessert and the cake we ordered did not disappoint. We had the Pastel De Mango (Php 150), it’s described as a chiffon cake filled with local ripe mangoes in whipped cream and topped with a crunchy creme brulee. It was not too sweet and the mangoes were perfect (i.e. hindi maasim). They also have a Pastel De Chcolate which I would love to try next time. It’s a decadent classic chocolate cake with salted caramel frosting on top (yum!).

IMG_9246

We had a nice lunch all around but one thing I’d like to comment on is the price range, given that the ‘base price’ is just for the sauce and does not include the ‘ingredients’ yet, it is quite pricey. Just to compare, with their base price I would have already gotten the whole pasta (with ingredients) in other restaurants. My friend and I were talking about it and it’s not for everyday lunch breaks. We were thinking that maybe they needed to raise the cost a bit to compensate for Makati rent. 🙂 I’d love to try the other pasta dishes and I’d still go back (pag bagong sweldo na siguro). 😛


Pasta Trufa Bar
Unit A, Planters Building,
109 Esteban Street,
Legaspi Village, Makati
Monday to Sunday, 11 AM to 10 PM
(02) 2469069 ext. 146

Leave a Reply

